He Promised

John 14:16, “And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;”

Many people have been offended at me for teaching this verse, but hear me out.

In John 14:16, Jesus prayed a prayer that is still prayed, sang in praise and worship songs, or chanted by many Christians today. Is it wrong? I’ll let you decide.

My wife never has to say, “oh please Mark come to me, be with me today, pour your love on me, or bless me with your presence.” I desire to do those things without my wife asking. I do fail at times to love her as Christ loves the church, but God never fails! God is Love! Jesus said this, “If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children: how much more shall your heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask him?” Luke 11:13.

I used my wife as an example to make a point. The apostle Paul also uses marriage to give examples of Christ and the church. God’s love for us can never be compared to the love I have for my wife. Human love fails, but God’s love can never fail.

Praying and begging for God’s presence is truly a slap in Jesus’ face. Jesus died to break separation between God and man. The veil of the temple was ripped in half to symbolize God being reconciled to man. We can now enter the throne of Grace boldly. His throne is in us. We are His temple. He can’t “come to us”, He’s in us!

Jesus’ prayer was answered! The Holy Spirit was given, and He never left! He is here to abide forever. We are not a Motel 6 that the Holy Spirit checks in and out of. He checks in and doesn’t check out.

I remember when I had a strong desire to play the acoustic guitar. I was borrowing one and played it until my fingers couldn’t take it any more. One day my grandfather gave me a brand new Fender acoustic guitar. I was completely overwhelmed with excitement! Suppose I play it for a couple weeks, then I go to my grandfather and ask for an acoustic guitar. What would he say? He would probably look at me like I was crazy! He would probably say, “I gave you a brand new one a couple of weeks ago! Why are you asking for one now?”

In a sense, that’s what we are doing by asking God for the Holy Spirit to be poured out, His presence, His love, His blessings, His power, etc. Sure God knows our heart, but it’s just weird to beg for stuff He died to give us as a gift. “The gifts and callings of God are irrevocable,” He is here and He’s not going anywhere, it’s a promise!

So, people can be offended all they want. I’m offended when people sing and pray such things insinuating that God is a liar. My Jesus did what He said He was going to do plus more, and He did not fail. He arose from the grave to carry out His promises.

Blessings

Leave a Reply

